Looking for Alaska

alaska.jpgYesterday I picked up Looking For Alaska by John Green at the city library. I had been eagerly awaiting this book for the last few months. It has received several awards including the 2006 L. Printz Award, the Borders Original Voices and has been selected as one of the 2006 Best Books For Young Adults by the American Library Association.

I use words from the School Library Journal review as they best describe this book.

Miles, nicknamed Pudge by his friends, leaves home to attend boarding school leaving behind a friendless, bullied life. “He loves to read biographies and discover the last words attributed to famous people. He’s particularly intrigued with the dying words of poet Francois Rabelais: ‘I go to seek a great perhaps’.” In his new school he becomes friends with a group of strong, unique individuals. “He becomes captivated by his new friends who spend as much energy on sex, smoking, drinking, and cutting-up as they do on reading, learning, and searching for life’s meaning.” He is especially attracted to Alaska, a young feminist with self-destructive behaviors. The title of the book and the chapter headings, (40 days before, 10 days after) foreshadow a tragic end to the novel.

I had been looking forward to this novel and indeed the quotes on the back of the book, “Girls will cry and boys will find, love, lust, and longing in Alaska’s vanilla-and-cigarettes scent” (Kirkus Reviews) and “The spirit of Holden Caulfield lives on” (KLIATT) heightened the anticipation.

But… it was like looking forward to seeing a four star movie – I felt somewhat let down when I read the book. That is not to say that it was not an enjoyable – it was. I found the characters to be authentic. They reflect today’s teenagers which is why I would recommend this book for older teens. Yet, somehow I felt that the characters, despite their teenage angst, belief in their indestructability, and friendship with each other, lacked depth. Their understanding of the world around them seemed superficial and vague – not rooted in a growing wisdom or movement into the adult world.

I hope that someone else will read this book and provide an alternative view – convince me I am wrong. This book has recieved numerous accolades and praise.

Read the Teen Reads Review — I must be wrong!

Leave a comment